Deals Gap 2024: Safety 3rd!

This year:  May 5-12th.  25th year!
(CLICK IMAGE FOR MEET INFO)

Main Menu

Off-Roading at my age?

Started by BlueR32, December 21, 2022, 06:00:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BlueR32

Hi Team. Not related to 2-strokes but I really respect the general input from this Forum's members so I feel I would get some good feedback on my dilemma. First up I am 66.5 years old but in good physical shape & health. I've been a street rider since I started riding at age 16 (many 2-strokes BTW). I live in NC USA but in the last couple of years I have been spending extended periods in Colorado to escape the mid-summer humidity of NC. I will retire in July 2023 and our plan is to spend the summers in CO (particularly Salida/BV area). I have discovered there's a big offroad community out there. I am strangely drawn to the offroad riding scene having binge-watched Itchy Boots on Youtube but I have not ventured beyond some well maintained gravel roads. I wouldn't see myself going too extreme but I think I would enjoy exploring more of the unpaved roads and the scenery that comes with it. Of course I know I will want to do more if I get into it. I bought a 2014 Honda CB500X from a friend in NC and it is now housed at our second home in Salida CO. However it is not the ideal steed for anything more than smooth unpaved surfaces. Considering my complete lack of off-road riding ability am I mad to consider getting into this at my age? 

kpke

I don't think so. Enjoy it while you can, just don't fall over  :rolleyes:. After I my Gold Wing sells (wife had hip replacement so she's not getting on it again and that's what we bought it for) I'm pretty sure it will be replaced with a dual sport. Not a giant one which are all the rage these days. Maybe a Tenere 700 or???
https://www.youtube.com/c/KensGarage1
Hord of RZ350's
RZV500 R6 Suspension and Bodywork
R1 LE #158

1976RD400C