click above to read more about Mat.

Main Menu

RD350 Project Mustakrakish

Started by bostontrackrat, May 22, 2020, 12:26:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bostontrackrat

Hi 2SW!

About Me
I'm an engineer and a motorcycle nut.  I've been riding and wrenching on bikes for about 8 years, and I've recently taken to 2 strokes.  I work in audio, and the acoustics/wave/resonance factor of 2 strokes makes a lot of sense in my head and it's really fun to learn about.  I race in USCRA (#86).  I also own an SV650, a Hawk GT, and a Peugeot 50cc moped.

About the Bike
1975 RD350 assembled from various piles of dry bones.   A friend locally was selling a bare frame for 40 bucks.  Well I couldnt pass that up.  After buying that he discovered that he had the numbers matching frame to go with it.  There went another 150 dollars.  A few weeks later I'm hunting on Craigslist for parts and I found a guy selling what was very nearly a complete bike, disassembled in boxes for 300 dollars.  On this platform I got to work rebuilding everything from scratch.  Every part was taken apart, cleaned, blasted, painted, greased and slowly assembled into something resembling a bike.  This started in spring of 2018, so it's been going for 2 years now.

About the Name
I've always been a big fan of heavy metal.  I loved the tv show Metalocalypse.  In one episode, the band reads a spell from an ancient book of spells and accidentally summons a Lake Troll.   My project reminds me of the lyrics of the song a lot.  Resurrecting an ancient evil beast to terrorize the land!  :metal:

85RZwade

So, an artistic engineer who's into heavy metal and two-strokes? Come on in, grab a beer, man!  :bacon:
Let's get that bike together  :righteous:
I post waayyy too much

Kawtriplefreak

bostontrackrat

Thanks!

The bike is actually a full roller now, and I'm working on engine assembly at the moment.   I'll continue posting my progress pictures from the past year in order until I'm caught up.