News:

Mat Oxley 1986 IOM TT

click above to read more about Mat.

Main Menu

High Anxiety... wiring in the bucket!

Started by hayduke, April 10, 2021, 09:22:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hayduke

I'm just beginning the process of updating the handlebar switches with repops off ebay and replacing the headlight bucket and ears with freshly painted ones. Every time I remove the headlight my anxiety peaks, and of course the left switch has slightly different wiring/connectors. I've identified most of the wires, though a few still have me scratching my head.

I'm trying to label all the connections inside, but I still have to drag the mess thru the hole in the back of the bucket... just wondering if you guys have any tips or pointers on the "best" way to do this without creating a bigger cluster fudge?

forexer

AAAltered

Having recently spent a ton of time in there, the wiring is actually quite logical once you study the color diagram - at least on the R5.  I did a bare frame tear down at this time last year.

Learn the difference between Brown and Chocolate.  Note the 1:1, 2:1, 3:1 and 4:1 connection points in the diagram.  Work through each area one at a time.  Ie right switch, left switch, brake lights, etc.   I've done this multiple times and haven't fried anything yet. 

Get one of Evans big laminated color diagrams if you don't have a good copy.

Good luck.
1971 R5
1976 RD200
2022 Moto Guzzi V7 850 Special

Evans Ward

He ordered a large laminate wiring diagram for his bike which will ship Monday. Good luck in finding your wiring issues!
1984 Yamaha RZ350
1976 Suzuki GT750
1972 Kawasaki H2 750 Mach IV

hayduke

Seems like this is the Zen part of motorcycling.. focus grasshoppa...

I went thru the whole harness many moons ago when a battery wire disintegrated mysteriously, I found several bad spots, and hoped I wouldn't have to be in there again.

I just ordered Evans schematic this morning.