Deals Gap Parking lot triage, looking at sunroofed #2:

This year:  May 5-12th.  25th year!
(CLICK IMAGE FOR MEET INFO)

Main Menu

1977 RD400 carb question

Started by kgbhans, April 15, 2019, 08:50:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kgbhans

I am new to 2 strokes and picked up a 1977 RD400 last year so apologize.  I got it running yesterday but I have some questions about the carb settings.  Can anyone tell me what the starting point is for the air and idle screws (how many turns out).  I have no idea what size the jets are but it has DG pipes if it makes a difference.  I appreciate any help.  I checked some manuals but  I couldn't find any settings.  I just got it running and don't want to blow it up.  Thanks.

SUPERTUNE

Welcome my RD friend!
Don't stress...
Tell me a little more about your RD400.
Are you still running the stock airbox? Do you know what filter you have? Uni replacement or still the stock paper unit?
Are you still on stock oil injection pump?
Have you done any ignition upgrades?
Stock timing for 76-78 RD400 is 2.3mm BTDC and needs to be retarded to 2.0 for today's 91*-93* fuels, (use pump gas no older than 8 weeks)
When using aftermarket chambers, due to making more power farther up the powerband, I would recommend to drop 1 tooth off the front sprocket to a 16T and not a stock 17t for the stock log pipes.
RD400 used 17/38 and the Daytona model used a 17/37 for the emission cylinders they had in the last year we got them in
'79.
Reply back here and I'll get you on the right track!
Chuck
RD machine work, boring, porting, cranks and engine building.

Chuck 'SUPERTUNE' Quenzler III
Team Scream Racing LLC
1920 Sherwood St. STE A
Clearwater, FL. 33765
cqsupertune@tampabay.rr.com

kgbhans