Deals Gap Parking lot triage, looking at sunroofed #2:

This year:  May 5-12th.  25th year!
(CLICK IMAGE FOR MEET INFO)

Main Menu

B OG RD400C

Started by M@, September 07, 2020, 11:23:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

M@

I guess I could rebuild my build build.  Not very remarkable, but it's mine.

Bought in Summer of 2003 or 4.  It seems like I should care, but I don't.

This is 40,000mi ish condition.  I bought it from my college roommate's dad that bought it from an estate sale.  There was a sticky carb and it was hard to open the throttle and he rode it around on one cylinder for about 6 months.  He's also about 250lb.... so... he didn't like it.   I cleaned the carb and rode it for about it year before I had a big end lockup.

As a poor college student I left it be at my parents shed for a couple of years before it was resurrected in my grad school years.

I sent it to Brad at HVC to rebuild the crank and transmission (probably a mistake.  It pops out of 5th occasionally now).

M@

So along with getting a new bottom end I decided it would be cool to put banshee reeds in and mill the head.  That didn't go to well and I ended up back with the stock metal reeds, but I did get a doweled head in the process.  I also took the whole thing apart cleaned an replaced a bunch of parts like the brake seals and chain etc.

M@

So now it was fully functional with all new ish bits and I rode the tires off that thing... maybe 4 sets....  I put on two sets of pistons over that period as the first set rattled a lot so I sent it to the BEST... don't recall their name, but they rattled a lot too...

At some point I put on some Coffman pipes that I believe are for a 350, but can't say for sure... 

Oh yeah and the power dynamo that thing's a beast.  I had a totally flat battery the other day and I just kicked a few times... boom... going.

It's a 60,000mi now and my room mate's dad tries to buy it off me occasionally.  It's too small for me and for sure too small for him. 

M@