Author Topic: Powerdynomo CDI upgrades and install (Vape)  (Read 5607 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline motulman

  • Plug Fouler
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • usa
    • View Profile
Re: Powerdynomo CDI upgrades and install (Vape)
« Reply #30 on: July 27, 2020, 03:38:50 PM »
hey chuck its been a long time,  does this installation cover the daytona also?
Pretty much the same as RD400's, the difference with a Daytona model is the headlight signal relay yellow wire from the stock stator.
I don't remember what I did exactly...I think I just may have jumped the relay in the headlight shell to turn on with the key and not use the relay.
Chuck
   i wish you would remember what you did exactly

Offline m in sc

  • Breaking shit and taking names
  • Administrator
  • Super Stroker
  • *
  • Posts: 2612
    • View Profile
Re: Powerdynomo CDI upgrades and install (Vape)
« Reply #31 on: July 27, 2020, 04:45:56 PM »
just bypass the relay, run switched power directly to the headlight switch.

Offline motulman

  • Plug Fouler
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • usa
    • View Profile
Re: Powerdynomo CDI upgrades and install (Vape)
« Reply #32 on: July 28, 2020, 01:54:14 AM »
mark there is no headlight switch on a daytona

Offline m in sc

  • Breaking shit and taking names
  • Administrator
  • Super Stroker
  • *
  • Posts: 2612
    • View Profile
Re: Powerdynomo CDI upgrades and install (Vape)
« Reply #33 on: July 28, 2020, 08:31:58 AM »
theres a hi/lo switch correct? power to that can be fed from switched 12v

when key is on, HL is on. since the ign doesnt need power to fire, persay, no peril.

Offline motulman

  • Plug Fouler
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • usa
    • View Profile
Re: Powerdynomo CDI upgrades and install (Vape)
« Reply #34 on: July 28, 2020, 10:34:02 PM »
ill look into that mark  thank you, just dont want to burn it up

Offline toffee

  • 2nd Gear Wheelie
  • *
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Re: Powerdynomo CDI upgrades and install (Vape)
« Reply #35 on: August 17, 2020, 06:55:41 AM »
What a great thread packed with great info!

Brilliant, Thanks Chuck.

I am currently in the process of fitting a Powerdynamo system on my 250b

The relay is relay is really confusing me [that isnt hard to do  :eek:]

ATM I have just fitted the unit and wired up everything as per the instructions
supplied with the system. 

I probably should make sure that the pin connections match what is posted here.

There is a clack wire from the relay with no connection fitted but I have no idea
where that connects to.

Im using a U.S loom
"An object at rest stays at rest and an object in motion stays in motion..." - Newton's 1st law of Motion